News

28.11.2017, MPI-CE_Maize pest exploits plant defense compounds to protect itself
 
A new study explains why biological control of the western corn rootworm has not been efficient

The western corn rootworm continues to be on the rise in Europe. Why attempts to biologically target this crop pest by applying entomopathogenic nematodes have failed, can now be explained by the amazing defense strategy of this insect. In their new study, scientists from the University of Bern, Switzerland, and the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology in Jena, Germany, show that the rootworm larvae are able to sequester plant defense compounds from maize roots in a non-toxic form and can activate the toxins whenever they need them to protect themselves against their own enemies. (eLife, November 2017, DOI: 10.7554/eLife.29307.001)

MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017


The western corn rootworm (Diabrotica virgifera virgifera), orginally from Central America, is more and more frequently found in Europe. The increasing pest pressure is causing great concern among farmers. Photo: Nowlan Freese, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology

The western corn rootworm (Diabrotica virgifera virgifera) is a devastating pest of maize plants, which has spread throughout Europe. This year’s pest monitoring in Germany revealed that the number of beetles caught in traps has again multiplied in comparison to the previous year. The insect originates from Central America, from where it spread invasively throughout North America since the 1950s. Agricultural authorities in the US estimate that the western corn rootworm causes damage worth billions of dollars each year.
 
 
MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017_1


Christelle Robert, now at the University of Bern, investigated the interaction of rootworm larvae and parasitic nematodes. She discovered why biological control of the rootworm with these nematodes has not been successful. Photo: Matthias Erb, University of Bern

Plants deploy sophisticated defense strategies in order to fend off the many species of insects interested in feeding on their nutritious leaves or roots. Researchers from Bern and Jena have now investigated the case of a beetle larva, which exploits the plant’s defenses for its own use. Maize plants store defense compounds known as benzoxazinoids in their roots in a non-toxic form. If herbivores attack the plants, these molecules rapidly break down into compounds that are toxic for most insects. “We were able to show that the western corn rootworm stabilizes a toxic benzoxazinoid by adding a sugar molecule. This modified molecule is used directly to keep nematodes, used as a biological control, away. Moreover, rootworms can stabilize a second plant-derived benzoxazinoid, sequester its non-toxic form in their bodies, and activate it upon nematode attack”, explains first and lead author Christelle Robert, who initiated this project in Jena and continued it at the University of Bern. Hence, the rootworm once uses a double strategy to utilize plant defenses for its own protection.
 
 
MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017_2











Western corn rootworm surrounded by entomopathogenic nematodes (arrows). Photo: Christelle Robert, University of Bern

Biological control with nematodes once seemed a promising alternative to the use of chemical pesticides. Previous studies which involved scientists from the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology had found that maize roots emit (E)-beta-caryophyllene to attract beneficial nematodes. Entomopathogenic nematodes in the soil, like the beneficial organism Heterorhabditis bacteriophora, have the potential to invade pest insects where they secrete symbiotic bacteria. The bacterial partners kill the insect host and the nematodes proliferate in the cadaver. This seemed a reasonable strategy to combat the western corn rootworm.

"Unfortunately, the nematodes often did not reduce Diabrotica populations very much, but it was not clear why this was the case. Thanks to the present work, we can now diagnose exactly why the biological control is inefficient. The rootworm is just too well protected with the plant’s own defenses. Another approach to controlling the rootworm is to breed maize for more benzoxazinoid defenses. According to the new findings, this will also not have much effect on Diabrotica because of their resistance to these chemical compounds, and even makes things worse by making Diabrotica more resistant to nematodes and possibly other biological controls,” Jonathan Gershenzon from the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Ecology summarizes.

These unsuccessful approaches with biological controls and plants with high benzoxazinoid concentrations have left the scientists stuck between Scylla and Charybdis and show how difficult the rootworm is to control. The scientists will now try to identify the genes or enzymes which enable the rootworms to outsmart maize defenses in order to ensure their own survival. Perhaps if these genes can be silenced, the rootworms will become susceptible to nematode infection.

2Our work illustrates how a specialized and highly destructive maize pest has evolved the ability to utilize the major toxins of its host plant to escape predation by soil-borne natural enemies. These results provide an explanation for the limited success of biological control programs targeting the western corn rootworm", says Christelle Robert. The study is an important basis for further investigations with the goal to improve the control of this major agricultural pest considerably in the future. [AO]


Original Publication:
Robert, C. A. M., Zhang, X., Machado, R. A. R., Schirmer, S., Lori, M., Matéo, P., Erb, M., Gershenzon, J. (2017). Sequestration and activation of plant toxins protects the western corn rootworm from enemies at multiple trophic levels. eLife, doi: 10.7554/eLife.29307.001
https://doi.org/10.7554/eLife.29307.001

Aktuelles

28.11.2017, MPI-CE_Maisschädling schlägt Mais mit dessen eigenen Waffen
 
Neue Forschungsergebnisse erklären, warum biologische Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung des Maiswurzelbohrers oft wirkungslos blieben

Der Maiswurzelbohrer ist auch in Deutschland weiter auf dem Vormarsch. Warum Versuche, dem Ernteschädling biologisch mit Hilfe von insektenpathogenen Fadenwürmern zu Leibe zu rücken, bisher fehlschlugen, erklärt eine erstaunliche Verteidigungsstrategie, die jetzt ein Team von Forschern der Universität Bern und des Max-Planck-Instituts für chemische Ökologie in Jena entschlüsselt hat: Die Larven des Käfers können Abwehrstoffe, die Maispflanzen über ihre Wurzeln abgeben, in ungiftiger Form speichern, um die Gifte bei Bedarf zu aktivieren und zum Schutz vor ihren eigenen Feinden einzusetzen. (eLife, November 2017, DOI: 10.7554/eLife.29307.001)

MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017

Der ursprünglich aus Mittelamerika stammende Westliche Maiswurzelbohrer (Diabrotica virgifera virgifera) tritt immer häufiger auch in Deutschland auf. Der zunehmende Schädlingsdruck bereitet immer mehr Landwirten große Sorgen. Foto: Nowlan Freese, Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Ökologie

Der Westliche Maiswurzelbohrer ist ein verheerender Maisschädling, der inzwischen europaweit verbreitet ist. Auch in diesem Jahr hat das Schädlings-Monitoring in Deutschland ergeben, dass sich die Zahl der gefangenen Käfer im Vergleich zum Vorjahr wieder vervielfacht hat. Der Schädling stammt ursprünglich aus Mittelamerika, von wo er sich ab der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts in ganz Nordamerika invasiv ausgebreitet hat. Dort richtet er nach Behördenschätzungen jährlich Schäden in Milliardenhöhe an.


 
 
MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017_1

Christelle Robert, die jetzt an der Universität Bern forscht, untersucht die Wechselwirkungen zwischen den Raupen des Maiswurzelbohrers und parasitischen Fadenwürmern. Sie entdeckte, warum die biologische Kontrolle mit den Fadenwürmern keinen Erfolg hatte. Foto: Matthias Erb, Universität Bern

Pflanzen müssen sich mit ausgeklügelten Verteidigungsstrategien unzähligen Insektenarten zur Wehr setzen, die es auf ihre nährstoffreichen Blätter oder Wurzeln abgesehen haben. Wissenschaftler aus Bern und Jena haben jetzt in einem Fall ermittelt, in dem eine Käferlarve Maispflanzen mit ihren eigenen Waffen geschlagen hat. Maispflanzen speichern in ihren Wurzeln bestimmte Abwehrstoffe, sogenannte Benzoxazinoide, in einer ungiftigen Form. Wenn Schädlinge eine Pflanze befallen, werden diese Moleküle so abgebaut, dass chemische Verbindungen entstehen, die für die meisten Insekten giftig sind. „Wir konnten zeigen, dass der Maiswurzelbohrer durch das Hinzufügen eines Zuckermoleküls an ein Benzoxazinoid-Abbauprodukt verhindert, dass Giftstoffe gebildet werden. Larven des Maiswurzelbohrers geben diese neue Verbindung direkt ab, um Nematoden, die als natürliche Antagonisten gegen die Schädlinge eingesetzt werden, abzuwehren. Außerdem speichern die Käferlarven die ungiftige Form eines weiteren Benzoxazinoids, um es zum Schutz vor angreifenden Nematoden selbst in einen giftigen Abwehrstoff umzuwandeln“, erläutert die Erstautorin und Leiterin der Studie Christelle Robert, die das Projekt in Jena initiierte und an der Universität Bern fortsetzte. Der Schädling wandelt die pflanzliche Abwehr somit doppelt für seinen eigenen Schutz um.
 
 
MPI-CE_PM_28.11.2017_2











Eine von entomopathogenen Fadenwürmern (Pfeile) umgebene Larve eines Maiswurzelbohrers. Foto: Christelle Robert, Universität Bern

Die biologische Schädlingsbekämpfung mit Nematoden (Fadenwürmern) schien einmal vielversprechend, nachdem frühere Studien, an denen auch das Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Ökologie beteiligt war, darauf hinwiesen, dass der Mais über seine Wurzeln den Botenstoff (E)-beta-Caryophyllen abgibt, um nützliche Nematoden anzulocken. Solche entomopathogenen Fadenwürmer im Boden, wie der Nützling Heterorhabditis bacteriophora, haben das Potenzial, in wurzelschädigende Käferlarven einzudringen. Mit Hilfe eines symbiotischen Bakteriums, das die Nematoden in den Larven absondern, werden die Wurzelschädlinge abgetötet und die Nematoden vermehren sich in den Kadavern ihrer Wirte. Der Maiswurzelbohrer sollte so wirksam biologisch bekämpft werden.

„Leider konnten die Nematoden Maiswurzelbohrer-Populationen nicht in dem erhofften Ausmaß vermindern, auch wenn zunächst unklar war, warum dies der Fall war. Dank der neuen Studie können wir genau diagnostizieren, warum die Bekämpfung mit Nützlingen nicht funktioniert. Der Schädling ist mit den Abwehrstoffen der Pflanze einfach zu gut geschützt. Auch ein weiterer Ansatz, der aus früheren Untersuchungen abgeleitet wurde, nämlich die Züchtung von Maissorten, die mehr Benzoxazinoide für ihre Verteidigung produzieren, ist aufgrund der neuen Erkenntnisse wenig sinnvoll, im Gegenteil: Da der Maiswurzelbohrer unempfindlich gegen die Abwehrstoffe ist und sie sogar nutzt, um resistent gegen die Nematoden zu werden, würden solche Maispflanzen das Problem noch verschlimmern“, fasst Jonathan Gershenzon vom Max-Planck-Institut für chemische Ökologie zusammen.

Damit haben die bisherigen Ansätze zur Bekämpfung mit Nützlingen und der Züchtung von Mais mit mehr Benzoxazinoiden zu einer Zwickmühle geführt. Die Misserfolge zeigen, wie schwer diesem Schädling beizukommen ist. Die Wissenschaftler wollen nun ermitteln, welche Gene oder Enzyme den Maiswurzelbohrer dazu befähigen, die Verteidigung von Maispflanzen auszutricksen, um das eigene Überleben zu sichern. Dazu untersuchen sie, ob Käferlarven, in denen solche Gene stillgelegt wurden, anfällig für Nematodenbefall sind.

„Unsere Arbeit veranschaulicht, wie ein spezialisierter Schädling, der verheerenden Schaden im Maisanbau anrichtet, die Fähigkeit entwickelt hat, die Hauptabwehrstoffe seiner Wirtspflanze zu missbrauchen, um sich selbst vor seinen natürlichen Feinden im Boden zu schützen. Die Ergebnisse erklären, warum die biologische Bekämpfung des Maiswurzelbohrers wenig Erfolg hatte“, sagt Christelle Robert. Die Studie bildet eine wichtige Basis für weitere Untersuchungen, damit dieser Landwirtschaftsschädling in Zukunft gezielter bekämpft werden kann.


Originalveröffentlichung:
Robert, C. A. M., Zhang, X., Machado, R. A. R., Schirmer, S., Lori, M., Matéo, P., Erb, M., Gershenzon, J. (2017). Sequestration and activation of plant toxins protects the western corn rootworm from enemies at multiple trophic levels. eLife, doi: 10.7554/eLife.29307.001
https://doi.org/10.7554/eLife.29307.001